National Defense Industrial Association
June 10-13, 2013 - New Orleans, Louisiana

Mr. James S. Leatherwood 

Speaker Bios
Mr. Paul P. Bollinger
Dr. Dorothy Robyn
Ms. Karen A. Harbert
Mr. Michael G. Ensch
Mr. James S. Leatherwood
Dr. Kevin T. Geiss
Symposium Speakers

Mr. James S. Leatherwood, SES

Director, Environmental Management Division


Mr. James S. Leatherwood, Director of NASA’s Environmental Management Division, holds over 25 years of national and international environmental experience. Mr. Leatherwood’s focus at NASA has been on enabling mission success through sustainability.  Mr. Leatherwood’s diverse background includes areas such as environmental engineering and scientific research, state and national environmental policy, and ecological restoration.

Mr. Leatherwood has worked his way up the career ladder, first working as a forest fire fighter and then as a state soil scientist.  He later moved on to support the United States Air Force nationally and internationally as a Director of Environmental Management at Kirkland AFC, NM; Deputy Commander of Engineering in Okinawa, Japan; Director of Environmental Management in Azores, Portugal, and Okinawa, Japan; and, as an environmental engineer in Ogden, Utah.  His Washington DC experience included three years leading the Forest Service’s environmental program as the Chief Environmental Engineer and participating as a Legislative fellow on Capital Hill working on environmental and Natural resource policy.  Mr. Leatherwood came to NASA from the U. S. Department of Agriculture Headquarters where he was Director of their Environmental Program.

Mr. Leatherwood was recognized for his leadership through many awards including the Federal Environmental Engineer of the year, by receiving the Henry P. Reitman Senior Civilian award and, by the State of Utah, with the Governor’s Commendation Award.  He is a firm believer in the strength of teams and in collaborative leadership.  His team leadership skills have been recognized through receipt of the Best Overseas Engineering Department, two Thomas D. White Environmental Quality Awards, the Thomas D. White National Resource Award (overseas), and the Best Civil Engineering Unit award in the Air Force.

Countdown to E2S2 2013!

Pre-Registration closes 5pm EST May 31, 2013

Symposium Dates - June 10-13, 2013

NDIAE2S2 Home  |  Site Map
© 2019 National Defense Industrial Association